Lecturers


  • Assoc. Prof. Elisaveta Peneva, PhD (Head of the Department)

  • Research interests: Atmosphere and ocean dynamics; Physical oceanography; Regional climate modelling; Climate variability
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В57, tel. +359 2/8161289, e-mail: elfa@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Assoc. Prof. Nikolay Rachev, PhD

  • Research interests: Physical oceanography; Atmosphere-ocean exchange; Shelf and closed basins dymanics
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В57, tel. +359 2/8161289, e-mail: nick@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Assoc. Prof. Gergana Guerova, PhD

  • Research interests: Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS): GPS, GLONASS, GALILEO; GNSS Meteorology and Climatology; Chemical weather: heatwaves, forest fires, long range pollution transport; Trends of atmospheric water vapour, trace gases and aerosols and their role in the bio-geochemical and the hydrological cycles
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В62, tel. +359 2/8161291, e-mail: guerova@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Assoc. Prof. Reneta Dimitrova, PhD

  • Research interests: Numerical modeling of mesoscale and microscale atmospheric dynamics; Air quality modelling, pollution and human health; Mesoscale and synoptic scale interactions; Physics of the atmospheric boundary layer
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В54, tel. +359 2/8161 324 or 311, e-mail: r.dimitrova@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Assoc. Prof. Reneta Raykova, PhD

  • Research interests: Seismology; Earth`s Interior; Generation and propagation of seismic waves; Digital seismology; Inverse problems in geophysics
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В66, tel. +359 2/8161389, e-mail: rraykova@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Assoc. Prof. Vesselin Tonchev, PhD

  • Research interests: Dynamic systems and chaos; Fractals; Crystal growth; TRIZ; Cloud condensation nuclei; Ice Nucleation; Percolation; Cellular Automata; Monte Carlo
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В59, tel. +359 2/8161712, e-mail: tonchev@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Head Assist. Prof. Milen Tsekov, PhD

  • Research interests: Statistical methods in meteorology and geophysics; Chaos and fractals in meteorology and geophysics; Time-series analysis
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В67, tel. +359 2/8161424, e-mail: tsekov@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Head Assist. Prof. Ventsislav Danchovski, PhD

  • Research interests: Meteorological Measurements and Instrumentation; Atmospheric Remote Sensing; Statistical Data Analysis; Environmental Pollution
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В55, tel. +359 2/8161413, e-mail: danchovski@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Head Assist. Prof. Gergana Georgieva, PhD

  • Research interests: Seismology; Earth`s Interior; Receiver Functions; Induced seismicity
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В68, tel. +359 2/8161383, e-mail: ggeorgieva@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Head Assist. Prof. Savka Petrova, PhD

  • Research interests: Cloud Physics
    Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В59, tel. +359 2/8161315, e-mail: asavita@phys.uni-sofia.bg


    Technical Assistants


  • Techn. Supp. Snezhana Vasileva

  • Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В54, tel. +359 2/8161311, e-mail: sneja@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Research Assistant Danko Ivanov

  • Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В58-b, tel. +359 2/8161253, e-mail: danko@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Research Assistant Lyuba Dimova, PhD

  • Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В61, tel. +359 2/8161629, e-mail: lyuba_dimova@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Research Assistant Irina Gancheva

  • Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В57, tel. +359 2/8161289, e-mail: irina.gancheva@phys.uni-sofia.bg

  • Reseacrh Assistant Margret Velizarova

  • Contact: Faculty of Physics, Room В54, tel. +359 2/8161324, e-mail: margretv@phys.uni-sofia.bg